13 Julio 2015
Lunes Junio 17, 2024



YouKu Weibo  Wechat Youtube Instagram Twitter  Facebook

SOS Saxophone Orchestra

Saxophone Orchestra SOS / contemporary, crossover / Slovenia, Croatia, Poland, Austria

Website(s) : http://www.vincero.si/sos-orkester/ /https://www.facebook.com/saksofonskiorkester.sequoia?ref=ts&fref=ts

This ensemble composed with pedagogues, soloists, arrangers, composers, jazz and chamber musicians from Slovenia, Croatia and Poland performs without a conductor.

projet 4264 photo-7-300x106


Saxophone Orchestra SOS – Its members are renowned saxophonists (pedagogues, soloists, arrangers, composers, and jazz and chamber musicians) from Slovenia, Croatia and Poland. The SOS provides a great music – a transcriptions of the masterpieces of classical music, original and new works, or jazz standards and sound of the Big Bands.
The orchestra is performing without a conductor. Lev Pupis is a concertmaster, artistic co-director is Matjaž Drevenšek. As soloists with SOS were performing some internationally renowned artists: Jean-Yves Fourmeau – saxophone, Tymur Melnyk – violin, Marco Pierobon – trumpet, Ljubisa Jovanović – flute, Ognjen Popović and Jože Kotar – clarinet. From its first concert in 2011, the SOS Orchestra has performed in Slovenia, Croatia and Serbia.

More informations


Milko Lazar: Everything has already grown/2015 (10′)
Aldo Kumar: Istrion/2015 (8′)
Nenad Firšt: Ragtime/2015 (6′)

The SOS saxophone orchestra was founded on the initiative of Roberto Buttus, renowned producer and musical instrument repairer. Together with Lev Pupis they invited well-established Slovene and Croatian saxophonists to join them and in 2011 the orchestra began to give concerts. The members of the orchestra are renowned saxophonists coming from different countries such as Slovenia, Croatia and Poland and are most revered and successful educators, soloists, musical arrangers, composers, jazz and chamber musicians.
The SOS saxophone orchestra’s mission is presenting audience with supreme music, whether it is a transcription of the masterpieces of classical music, originals or new works, standard jazz music or the sound of big-bands.
One of the main peculiarities of the orchestra is certainly the fact that it performs without a conductor. This is an added advantage despite a large number of its members since the orchestra can perfectly apply the idea of chamber music and pursue a common goal – pampering the audience with an outstanding music and performance.
New music and the importance of the cooperation and integration of the musical experiences and energies which solely enable the projection of unique musical experience, have always been central to the orchestra. Therefore the SOS orchestra fosters close associations with many acclaimed soloists and so far it has had many guest appearances, including, among others, Jean – Yves Fourmeau – saxophone, Tymur Melnyk – violin, Marco Pierobon – trumpet, Ljubiša Jovanović – flute, Ognjen Popović – clarinet, Oto Vrhovnik –saxophone, Matej Grahek – flute, Jože Kotar – clarinet.


13/07/2015 12:00 - 12:30

Salle de la Bourse

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • Drevenšek Matjaž (Slovenia)
  • Simon Boštjan (Slovenia)
  • Žerjal Mitja (Slovenia)
  • Mijovič Blaž
  • Joka Jovana (Slovenia)
  • Reljić Ivor (Croatia)
  • Škoberne Matjaž (Slovenia)
  • Volk Rok (Slovenia)
  • Horvat Petra (Croatia)
  • Pupis Lev (Slovenia)
  • Partyka Weronika (Poland)
  • Bizjak Kotnik Betka (Slovenia)
  • Šmid Irena (Slovenia)
  • Marjanović Larisa (Slovenia)
  • Cizej Jurij (Slovenia)
  • Matjaž Drevenšek (Slovenia)
  • Tadej Šepec (Slovenia)
  • Milan Savić (Serbia)


  • Everything Has Already Grown (Milko Lazar)
  • Istrion (Aldo Kumar)
  • Zeleni Jure (Igor Lunder)
  • Hungarian rock (György Ligeti)





Captura de pantalla 2015-07-08 a las 11.23.29



prologue facebook

MONEDAS Adolphe Sax 2014

Monedas del 200 aniv de Adolphe Sax