13 Julio 2015
Sábado Mayo 25, 2024



YouKu Weibo  Wechat Youtube Instagram Twitter  Facebook


Emma Di Marco / contemporary, crossover / Australia

Website(s) : http://www.emmadimarco.com / http://www.facebook.com/emmadimarcosax /http://www.thomasgreenmusic.com

Working with four leading Australian composers – Timothy Tate, Thomas Green, Chris Healey, and Andrew Ball – Emma Di Marco presents exciting, eccentric, and eclectic works written especially for her.

projet 1741 image-300x200


Emma Di Marco is a talented young saxophonist hailing from Brisbane, Australia and a rising star in the Australian classical saxophone community. Praised for her impressive musicality and superb tone, she maintains a fulfilling portfolio career as a saxophonist, chamber musician, PhD candidate, educator, adjudicator, artistic director, and events manager. She is also a D’Addario Woodwind Artist and proud advocate for Rico Reeds and Accessories. In 2014, Emma conducted a highly praised national tour with performances in Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, and Hobart. As an educator, Emma is currently a sessional lecturer in saxophone at the Queensland Conservatorium of Music. Emma is also undertaking a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Musicology at the Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University.

More informations

This performance is the presentation of 4 innovative new works for solo saxophone by four leading Australian composers. The works were composed as part of an ongoing project by the saxophonist, Emma Di Marco, to commission and perform new Australian works for solo saxophone. Beginning with the soprano saxophone, Di Marco has seen the creation of several new pieces and performed these across Australia both at the Australasian Clarinet and Saxophone Conference (Sydney, 2013) and in an exclusive solo tour across the East Coast of Australia (Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, & Hobart, 2014) under the banner of “The Solo Soprano” Project. This project has been celebrated across Australia as a new and unique effort in the ongoing promotion of Australian classical saxophone music. This will be the first opportunity to present the repertoire at an international industry event. This performance is also the world premiere of a work for solo alto saxophone within this compositional project, written by Thomas Green, a prolific and celebrated composer known for merging acoustic and digital elements within his compositions. Green has previously worked with the Barega Saxophone Quartet in the creation of a new work premiered in Sydney in 2013. The other three pieces on the program for this are Dancing Idol of the Undying Mountain by Andrew Ball, Birches by Chris Healey, and the world premiere of a new composition by Timothy Tate. “Dancing Idol” is Ball’s gypsy inspired contribution to the project and one of his most intricate and dance inspired works. Ball, being a highly respected young saxophonist in his own right, has gained a reputation as one of Australia’s most promising young composers for the saxophone. This work is a fast-paced and high energy dance on the soprano saxophone that has received significant acclaim in live performances throughout 2014. Also premiered in 2014, Birches is an expressive and emotional work for solo saxophone by young Australian composer Chris Healey. Rounding out the program is the world premiere of Timothy Tate’s new work for solo soprano saxophone influenced by his previous writing for solo flute and exploring the tonal possibilities and colours possible on the instrument. Altogether, this performance is a new presentation of Australian classical saxophone works and the opportunity to present two world premieres with the global saxophone community, sharing in the long tradition of celebrating new music.


13/07/2015 15:15 - 15:45

Cité de la musique et de la danse - Salle d'Orgue (29)

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • Di Marco Emma / Soprano Saxophone (Australia)


  • New Work* (Timothy Tate) / World Premiere
  • Shimmer (Thomas Green) / World Premiere
  • Dancing Idol of the Undying Mountain (Andrew Ball)
  • Birches (Chris Healey)





Captura de pantalla 2015-07-08 a las 11.23.29



prologue facebook

MONEDAS Adolphe Sax 2014

Monedas del 200 aniv de Adolphe Sax