13 Julio 2015
Lunes Junio 17, 2024



YouKu Weibo  Wechat Youtube Instagram Twitter  Facebook

Let The Darkness Out

E. di Marco / contemporary / Australia

Website(s) : http://www.emmadimarco.com / http://www.catherinelikhuta.com /http://sydney.edu.au/music/staff-profiles/david.howie.php

The European premiere of two new works for saxophone and piano: ‘Let the Darkness Out’ and ‘Under the Blue’ written by Catherine Likhuta, played by two Australian players.

projet 2251 Emma-1-For-Web Super Low Res-200x300


Emma Di Marco is a talented young saxophonist hailing from Brisbane, Australia and a rising star in the Australian classical saxophone community. Praised for her impressive musicality and superb tone, she maintains a fulfilling portfolio career as a saxophonist, chamber musician, PhD candidate, educator, adjudicator, artistic director, and events manager. She is also a D’Addario Woodwind Artist and proud advocate for Rico Reeds and Accessories. In 2014, Emma conducted a highly praised national tour with performances in Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, and Hobart. As an educator, Emma is currently a sessional lecturer in saxophone at the Queensland Conservatorium of Music. Emma is also undertaking a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Musicology at the Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University.

More informations

This performance is the result of ongoing collaborations between saxophonist Emma Di Marco and composer Catherine Likhuta. With Di Marco and Likhuta sharing a passion for the increased performance of chamber music and an excitement for pushing the boundaries within classical music, the resulting new arrangements have proven to be innovative new additions to the Australian classical saxophone repertory. The two works chosen for this performance represent two vastly differing performance styles for Di Marco exploring the versatility of the saxophone and emotional boundaries of the performers. ‘Let the Darkness Out’ is a challenging and emotionally raw work. From the first note, both saxophonist and pianist are pushed to their limits with subtle whispers building to dynamic screams. Di Marco is known for her emotionally charged performances and this work plays into her ability to project emotionally and take the audience on a journey. A difficult piece for both saxophonist and pianist, this work is masterfully executed by pianist David Howie. ‘Under the Blue’ is a vast contrast to the previous work. Exploring the subtleties of sound and crafting a beautiful imagery of the ocean, deep below the surface. This work showcases Likhuta’s unique ability to tell imaginative stories through sound, this arrangement was prepared especially for Di Marco and Howie for this performance. Emma Di Marco is joined by the acclaimed Australian pianist David Howie for this exclusive performance. Howie is a powerhouse within the Australian classical music community and increasingly in demand as a performer. A brief biography of Howie is provided below. About the Accompanist: David Howie David Howie studied piano under Sonya Hanke and Gordon Watson as an undergraduate and then specialised in accompaniment, studying with David Miller at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music and Paul Hamburger in London at the Royal Academy of Music. David was head of keyboard studies at Kings College in Somerset, England, for four years before returning to Australia where he has lectured in accompaniment as a member of the Sydney Conservatorium Ensemble Unit since 1992. He has performed throughout England, Europe, America and Australia, has given numerous live broadcasts and studio recordings for the BBC, Radio Luxembourg, ABC television and radio and 2MBS FM.


13/07/2015 12:00 - 12:30

Cité de la musique et de la danse - Salle 24

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • Di Marco Emma / Soprano Saxophone (Australia)
  • Howie David / Piano (Australia)


  • Let the Darkness Out (Catherine Likhuta)
  • Under the Blue (Catherine Likhuta)

Audio files





Captura de pantalla 2015-07-08 a las 11.23.29



prologue facebook

MONEDAS Adolphe Sax 2014

Monedas del 200 aniv de Adolphe Sax