13 Julio 2015
Lunes Junio 17, 2024



YouKu Weibo  Wechat Youtube Instagram Twitter  Facebook

New composition by Kevin Timothy Austin

Charbonneau-Vutipadadorn Duo / contemporary

Website(s) : http://www.kevintimothyaustinmusic.com

13 Dreams of the Lotus is a new composition by Kevin Timothy Austin using multiple techniques for both the saxophone and piano, creating a musical journey that goes through thirteen dreams.

projet 5407 Sax  Piano Duo-2-200x300


The Charbonneau-Vutipadadorn Duo was formed in the Fall of 2012 to perform the Concurrent World-Premiere of Ida Gotkovsky’s ‘Incandescence pour Saxophone Ténor et Piano’. Commissioning new works and collaborating with composers remains very important to the duo.
Christopher Charbonneau is currently finishing his DMA in Saxophone at Arizona State University while maintaining a private studio of over 50 students. He also holds a Master’s degree from Indiana University and a Bachelor’s degree from California State University, Long Beach.
Hanah Vutipadadorn is currently finishing her Master’s degree in piano performance at Arizona State University under the tutelage of Dr. Baruch Meir. A two-time winner of the ASU concerto competition, Hanah also maintains a private studio of over 20 student

More informations

One of the main objectives of our duo is to work closely with promising composers. Young composers don’t always have the opportunity to work directly with competent performers during and after the completion of their work. As a duo we provide that opportunity in the hope of helping the composer further realize their ideal composition. 13 Dreams of the Lotus is an exciting new composition by Kevin Timothy Austin using multiple extended techniques for both the saxophone and piano. The composer uses saxophone multiphonics, pitched slap tonguing, timbral trills, various vibratos influenced by Hindustani vocal techniques all mixed with bowed strings, internal pizzicato, internal glissandi and spoken text. The expanded palette of colors helps the composition weave in and out of thirteen individual ‘dreams’ played in an order chosen by the performers. Austin’s approach to extended techniques never seems gimmicky or contrived and always seems to clearly articulate the subject in which he intends to depict. As a performer and educator I feel this piece has great merit and would be a wonderful addition to the program for the 2015 World Saxophone Congress & Festival.


13/07/2015 09:00 - 09:30

Cité de la musique et de la danse - Salle 22

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • Charbonneau Christopher / Alto Saxophone (United States)
  • Vutipadadorn Hanah / Piano (United States)


  • 13 Dreams of the Lotus (Kevin Timothy Austin) / French premiere




Captura de pantalla 2015-07-08 a las 11.23.29



prologue facebook

MONEDAS Adolphe Sax 2014

Monedas del 200 aniv de Adolphe Sax