11 Julio 2015
Lunes Junio 17, 2024



YouKu Weibo  Wechat Youtube Instagram Twitter  Facebook

Premieres pour saxophones et piano

C. Creviston, H. Creviston and D. Stambler / classical, contemporary

Website(s) : http://www.ChristopherCreviston.com

Saxophonist C.Creviston and pianist H. Creviston share 3 works which are presently being composed for them. “Flash”, by M. Lanz Weiser, a piece by Mischa Zupko and a new composition by David Stambler.

projet 2604 2014 Creviston Headshot -200x300


Since their first performance in Carnegie Hall in 2007, Christopher & Hannah Creviston have been guests on series and at festivals across the United States and abroad. Active proponents of new music, the duo has several commissions and premieres to their credit, including works by Katherine Hoover, Stacy Garrop, David Heinick, Gregory Wanamaker, Eric Schwartz, Whitney Ashe, John Fitz Rogers, Mark Lanz Weiser and Mischa Zupko.

More informations

The compositions are not complete, but I have provided several recordings of my playing. Here are the composer’s bios.

Mark Lanz Weiser has had his music performed internationally by such groups as the Baltimore and Indianapolis Symphony Orchestras, the Oakland East Bay Symphony, Pulse Chamber Music, the Capitol Quartet, the Peabody Orchestra, USC Thornton EDGE, and the New Horizons Chamber Ensemble. He has received numerous commissions including ones from the American Guild of Organists, the Loudoun Symphony Orchestra, and the Eclipse Chamber orchestra. Weiser has received many awards including annual ASCAP grants since 1996, and residencies at the Yaddo colony in New York and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. His opera Where Angels Fear to Tread, will be given its professional premiere by Opera San Jose in their upcoming 2014-2015 season. Weiser’s music can also be heard in many award-winning commercial and independent films that have been shown throughout the US, UK, and Canada.

In the words of New York Times critic Anthony Tommasini, Mischa Zupko’s Five Etudes for Piano were “Liszt-like in their florid generosity” and the L.A. Times has hailed his compositions as “engaging”. He was the 2010-2011 composer-in-residence with the Fulcrum Point New Music Project based in Chicago and was featured in a cover story of the Chicago Reader for his compositional activities in the Chicagoland area. He currently serves as the director of Beethoven Today, the modern music series of the International Beethoven Project’s widely acclaimed Beethoven Festival.
Zupko’s works have been championed, commissioned and premiered by leading U.S. orchestras and chamber groups including the Minnesota Orchestra, the Aspen Contemporary Ensemble, Fulcrum Point New Music Project, American Modern Ensemble, Eighth Blackbird, Corigliano Quartet, Lincoln Trio and members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra as well as members of the Kronos, Vermeer and Pacifica Quartets, the Gilmore International Keyboard Festival, the Michigan Youth Arts Festival, the Music Institute of Chicago and the New York Youth Symphony. He is also a recipient Fromm Foundation and Barlow grants.
Zupko’s numerous awards include first place in the Pacific Symphony Orchestra’s ‘AMERICAN COMPOSER’S COMPETITION’, first place in the Loudon Symphony’s American Composer Competition, the Lee Ettelson Composers Award from Composers Inc., co-winner of the USA International Harp Competition Composition Contest, three ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composers Awards including the first prize Kaplan Award, the ‘First Music’ award from the New York Youth Symphony, the Jacob Druckman prize from the Aspen Music Festival and finalist in the Rome Prize Competition.


11/07/2015 16:45 - 17:30

Cité de la musique et de la danse - Salle 22

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • Creviston Christopher / soprano saxophone (United States)
  • Creviston Hannah / piano (United States)
  • Stambler David / Alto Saxophone (United States)


  • Flash (2014) (Mark Lanz Weiser (b. 1968) ) / French premiere
  • TBA (Mischa Zupko (b. 1970) )
  • Resiliant (2014) for alto saxophone and piano 1. Allegro Energico 2. Sublime 3. Finale (David Stambler (b. 1963))





Captura de pantalla 2015-07-08 a las 11.23.29



prologue facebook

MONEDAS Adolphe Sax 2014

Monedas del 200 aniv de Adolphe Sax