13 Julio 2015
Miércoles Julio 24, 2024



YouKu Weibo  Wechat Youtube Instagram Twitter  Facebook

Distancias Sensoriales

Constelación Saxophone Quartet / electroacoustic

Website(s) : http://constelacionsaxquartet.com/

Sensorial Distances is the first artistic proposal of Constelación Saxophone Quartet. Formed in 2014, the Quartet offers a coherent music presentation combining electroacoustic and video projection.

projet 2163 IMAGEN CONJUNTA CONSTELACIOu0301N-300x150


Professional musiciens, renowed teachers and international concertists, awarded in several international competitions, specialized in contemporary music, and very well known on the contemporary music scene, Xelo Giner, Elisa Urrestarazu, Ana Lencina and Sara Zazo – four powerful women – create in year 2014 an exciting projet where the aim is to open the concept of saxophone quartet to new ways to enrich the formation itself.
All of them completed their formation in “Conservatoire Jacques Thibaud de Bordeaux”, France, with Marie – Bernadette Charrier and Jean Marie Londeix, being that one of the roots which unifies their energy and also, one of the marks of the group.

More informations

“Sensorial Distances” is the first artistic proposal of Constelación Saxophone Quartet.
The aim of this project is based on the development of the artistic objectives of the brand new Saxophone Quartet, formed in year 2014, offering a coherent music proposal with great value and interest for the public.

Constelación Saxophone Quartet is formed by four women united by their interest and affinity to the music of our days. Inside of the immense constellation of different types of music which defines the actual panorama, the group gets focus on exploring and sharing the music close to their aesthetic ideals. The result of their common thoughts and reflections is this artistic proposal formed by music by composers of their country of origin, Spain, whom represent a vibrating generation of Young composers, all of them already consolidated on the contemporary music scene.

Besides this first approach to the target of the group, it’s interesting and necessary to show the work that the Quartet explores with the electroacoustic world and video projection, both of them disciplines that open the traditional concept of the saxophone quartet towards other more open and more free regions where we can absorve this formation as only one powerful instrument, and also to enrich it through the union of other instruments, arts or process.

Attached to the compromise of the interpretation of new music, Constelación Saxophone Quartet is pleased to make the World Premier of “Naranja”, work written by Carlos David Perales, for saxophone quartet and live electro, and the French Premier of “Candor Chasma”, by José López Montes, for saxophone quartet, electro and video.

Sensorial distances arises from the concet of “sinestesia”, found on both pieces on the programme. Reading the poem of the writter Mahmud Darwix, which inspires the piece “Naranja” by Carlos David Perales, the Quartet finds the link between the differences among some of the human senses, such as touch, smell and tasted, strongly attached to terrenal, human, closeness, versus the vision, which, even having the same roots as the other senses, is always transformed in a metaphoric way towards something symbolic, to an idea more onirique in our minds.

Therefore, “Sensorial distances” emerges between the terrenal and methaphisic material through the human senses. We can find this idea of elevation to the metaphysical basis also in “Candor Chasma” by José López Montes. Drawing upon Mars reliefs we touch again the idea of steallness and clearance, the impossibility of getting close to the human, as we can’t complete the vision with the help of ther senses.


The mixture of experience and nature of each component gives to Constelación Sax Quartet a reference signal based on the exploration of the four instrument’s resources, with the aim of transform them in only one, concrete, particular and simultaneously.


13/07/2015 15:00 - 15:30

Cité de la musique et de la danse - Studio 416

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • Zazo Romero Sara / Saxophone (Switzerland)
  • Lencina Sánchez Ana / Saxophones (Spain)
  • Urrestarazu Capellán Elisa / Saxophones (Spain)
  • Giner Antich Xelo / Saxophones (Spain)


  • Candor Chasma (José López Montes) / French premiere
  • Naranja (Carlos David Perales) / World Premiere




Captura de pantalla 2015-07-08 a las 11.23.29



prologue facebook

MONEDAS Adolphe Sax 2014

Monedas del 200 aniv de Adolphe Sax