CCOM Saxophone Ensemble for WSC

Sostenuto Saxophone Ensemble / contemporary

The piece follows the structure of Haruki Murakami’s novel “Strange Library”. The atmosphere is building an unreal impression. Music is written using complete graphical notation and extended technique.

IMG 1797-191x300



The Sostenuto Saxophone Ensemble was established in 2012. The members are studying saxophone and chamber music with Professor Yang Tong at the Central Conservatory of Music, Beijing. The Sostenuto Saxophone ensemble is regularly invited to perform with prestigious groups such as the China Philharmonic Orchestra and the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra among other. They are often invited to perform in Malaysia, Yinchuan, Shenzhen, Beijing, Chongqing.

Over the years the years, The Sostenuto Saxophone Ensemble gain recognition as being one of the most important ensemble in China.

More informations

The piece follows the narrative structure of Haruki Murakami short novel “The strange Library”. (A lonely boy, a mysterious girl, and a tormented sheep man plot their escape from the nightmarish library.) The music emphasizes the impression of the library (the form addressing architectural design and melody, harmony and timbre ideas on colors smells and time dilatation). The atmosphere is building an impression of loss and despair within alleys and room full of old books, which personifies our quest for personal knowledge. The music is written using complete graphical notation and extended technique.


11/07/2015 09:30 - 10:00

Cité de la musique et de la danse - Salle 21

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • Yang Tong / Soprano Saxophone (China)
  • Ji Xiang / Tenor saxophone (China)
  • Hao Shaohui / alto saxophone (China)
  • Guo Qi / soprano saxophone (China)
  • Li Pei / alto saxophone (China)
  • Liu Zhongping / baritone saxophone (China)
  • Benoît Granier / composer (France)


  • The strange Library (room 107) (Benoit Granier) / World Premiere