Domingo Julio 14, 2024



YouKu Weibo  Wechat Youtube Instagram Twitter  Facebook

New Music for Large Saxophone Ensemble

The Cortona Saxophone Collective / Great Plains Saxophone Ensemble / classical, contemporary

Website(s) : http://www.saxophone.okstate.edu / http://www.facebook.com/okstatesaxstudio /http://www.cortonasessions.com

The Cortona Saxophone Collective performs new works by the composers Igor Karača, Roger Petersen, Marc Mellits, and Jeffrey Loeffer, highlighting the versality of Saxophone since its invention.

projet 5063 Great Plains Saxophone Ensemble-300x148



The Cortona Saxophone Collective (Great Plains Saxophone Ensemble) is comprised of faculty and students from the Cortona Sessions for New Music, and is lead by music faculty from Oklahoma State Univ., Univ. of Oklahoma, Wichita State Univ., Michigan State Univ., and Central Michigan University. The Cortona Saxophone Collective is dedicated to progressing the saxophone ensemble as a dynamic and viable concert ensemble through premiering new works, creating compelling arrangements and adaptations for saxophone ensemble, and performing works in the standard repertoire at a high level. Recent performances include the North American Saxophone Alliance Biennial National Conference. We are committed to maintaining a cooperative artistic and educational relationship between multiple universities.

More informations

In a collaborative effort between university students and professors from universities in the central United States, we have created a saxophone ensemble called the Cortona Saxophone Collective (also known as the Great Plains Saxophone Ensemble). The members of this ensemble represent multiple universities including Oklahoma State University, the University of Oklahoma, Wichita State University, Michigan State University, and Central Michigan University, among others. This ensemble has performed together since 2012. We request the opportunity to perform some of our new works for saxophone ensemble by Bosnian composer Igor Karača, as well as American composers Roger Petersen, Marc Mellits, and Jeffrey Loeffert. This program will highlight the idiomatic properties of the saxophone ensemble. In line with one of the objectives of the World Saxophone Congress to showcase the versatility and progression of the saxophone in performance from its invention to present day, this performance proposal features the saxophone ensemble as a vibrant and legitimate concert ensemble.


10/07/2015 15:30 - 16:00

Salle de la Bourse

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • Loeffert Jeffrey / saxophone (United States)
  • Loeffert Kimberly / saxophone (United States)
  • von Bernthal Katherine / saxophone (United States)
  • Mikula Connor (United States)
  • Allardyce Jeffrey / saxophone (United States)
  • Lulloff Jordan / saxophone (United States)
  • Nichol Jonathan / saxophone (United States)
  • Dahir Ryan / saxophone (United States)
  • Nichol John / saxophone (United States)
  • Aaron Singleton / saxophone (United States)
  • Anderson Hayden / saxophone (United States)
  • Deibel Geoffrey / saxophone (United States)
  • Hewitt Jake / Alto Saxophone (United States)


  • Droning Incoherent Thoughts of an Apoplectic Mind (Jeffrey Loeffert) / World Premiere
  • Capriccio Burlesco (Igor Karača ) / French premiere
  • In Dreams (Roger Petersen)
  • Machine IV (Marc Mellits (arr. Jonathan Nichol)) / French premiere




Captura de pantalla 2015-07-08 a las 11.23.29



prologue facebook

MONEDAS Adolphe Sax 2014

Monedas del 200 aniv de Adolphe Sax