Miércoles Julio 24, 2024



YouKu Weibo  Wechat Youtube Instagram Twitter  Facebook

Trio Traction Avant – 2 Vastly different works with Adolphe SAX originals and Soprillo

Traction Avant duo / contemporary, crossover

The project presents a very old piece and a more recent creative work for piccolo saxophone. Vastly different, both will
be performed by the experts Shinichi Miyazaki and Megumu Miyazaki-Onokawa.

projet 3192 pr01-300x300



Traction Avant (“Front wheel drive” or “traction a vent” = air pressure) : formed in 1999. Have many concerts includes lot of premiere performance.

Shin-ich MIYAZAKI:

A Concert saxophonist and Lecturer at ISHIMORI, the world famous woodwind shop.

Technical Adviser at the saxophone robot laboratory of Waseda university.

Historian about innovation of saxophone and music – had appear serially in a music magazine “Pipers”. and have large lot of vintage saxophone collection over 50.


A Concert Saxophonist especially small saxophones, Soprillo or Sopranino.

Lecturer at ISHIMORI and Gyokusei training college of Infant care and Education.


A Operatic corépétiteur at New National Theatre Tokyo.

More informations

The oldest music dedicated to the original saxophone made by the hands of its inventor, Adolphe Sax.
A creative work involving “Soprillo” (piccolo saxophone), which is the newest member of the saxophone family.
Vastly different, the two pieces will be performed by the saxophone historian Shinichi Miyazaki, and the expert of high sound range saxophones, Megumu Miyazaki-Onokawa.

“Duo concertant op.55” by Jean-Baptiste Singelée for Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone and Piano
Jean-Baptiste Singelée (25 September 1812 – 29 September 1875) was born in Brussels and studied at the Royal Conservatoire there. Singelée was one of the first composers to treat the saxophone as a serious classical instrument, evidenced by his composing over 30 Solos de Concours for saxophone and his students at the Paris Conservatory.

As a longtime friend of Adolphe SAX (they met as students at the Royal School of Music), he encouraged Sax to develop the four principal members of the saxophone family, and composed what is very likely the first work ever written for the saxophone quartet, his Premier Quatuor, Op. 53 (1857). In addition to his saxophone works, Singelée is credited with composing 12 concertos, many solo works for violin and other instruments as well as music for ballet.
Duo concertant op.55 (1858) is his early work for saxophone.

Antoine-Joseph “Adolphe” Sax (6 November 1814 – c. 7 February 1894) was a Belgian musical instrument designer and musician who played the flute and clarinet, and is well known for having invented the saxophone. He also invented the saxotromba, saxhorn and saxtuba.

The period around 1840 saw Sax inventing the clarinette-bourdon, an early unsuccessful design of contrabass clarinet. He developed around this time the instrument for which he is now best known, the saxophone, patented on 28 June 1846. The saxophone was invented for use in both orchestras and concert bands. Composer Hector Berlioz wrote approvingly of the new instrument in 1842. By 1846 Sax had designed, on paper, a full range of saxophones (from sopranino to subcontrabass). Although they never became standard orchestral instruments, the saxophones made his reputation and secured him a job, teaching at the Paris Conservatoire in 1857.
The original 1861 Soprano and 1869 Alto are called 2nd generation of Adolphe SAX’s saxophone, manufactured at 50 Rue Saint-Georges Paris.

“Trio” by Eiko ORITA for Soprillo, Sopranino saxophone and piano
Eiko ORITA is Japanese composer who wrote lot of works for “Ueno no mori” brass quintet and theater piece.

The Soprillo (named from Soprano and Piccolo) is the smallest and newest member of the saxophone family. It is pitched in B, one octave above the soprano saxophone. As of 2004, soprillos were being manufactured by the German instrument maker Benedikt Eppelsheim.


11/07/2015 13:30 - 14:00

Cité de la musique et de la danse - Salle 23

Add to Google Calendar

Add to iCal

Musicians / speakers

  • MIYAZAKI Shin-ich / Sopranino and Soprano (Japan)
  • MIYAZAKI Megumu / Soprillo and Alto (Japan)
  • ONODERA Miki / Piano (Japan)


  • Trio for Soprillo, Sopranino Saxophone and Piano (Eiko ORITA) / World Premiere
  • Duo Concertant (Jean- Baptiste SINGLEE)





Captura de pantalla 2015-07-08 a las 11.23.29



prologue facebook

MONEDAS Adolphe Sax 2014

Monedas del 200 aniv de Adolphe Sax